Monday, 13 April 2015


There will be five candidates standing for the Erewash parliamentary constituency at next month’s General election, which takes place on Thursday 7th May. At the close of nominations at 4pm today (Thursday 9th April), the candidates were confirmed as:
Maggie Throup — The Conservative Party, Ralph Timothy Hierons — The Green Party, Catherine Helen Atkinson — Labour Party, Martin Charles Garnett — Liberal Democrats, Philip Rose — UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Residents who will be on holiday or working away on next month’s ‘Election Day’ still have time to apply for a postal vote. The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Tuesday 21st April. When voting by post, the ballot papers are posted out to the elector who can then return the completed papers in the envelope provided.
In addition, residents who are unable to get to the polling station on 7 May also have the option of appointing a proxy to cast their vote on their behalf at the designated polling station. The deadline to apply for a proxy vote is 5pm on Tuesday 28th April.
Voters will be casting their votes for the General, Borough and Parish elections on Thursday 7th May.
Any Erewash residents wanting to apply for any of the above should contact the Borough Council’s elections team by email or call 0115 907 1190.

Erewash residents are being reminded that new arrangements are in place for the Erewash Borough Council election this May following an independent review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. Voters will now elect 47 councillors in total, four fewer than the previous arrangements. Those elected will represent a total of 19 wards – three fewer than previously. The Commission’s review re-drew some ward boundaries to ensure that each Erewash councillor represents roughly the same number of voters. The 19 wards and the number of councillors to be elected in each are:

North of the boroughAwsworth Road (2); Cotmanhay (2); Hallam Fields (2); Kirk Hallam and Stanton-by-Dale (3); Larklands (3); Little Eaton and Stanley (2); Little Hallam (2); Shipley View (2); West Hallam and Dale Abbey (3).

South of the boroughBreaston (2); Derby Road East (2); Derby Road West (3); Draycott and Risley (2); Long Eaton Central (3); Nottingham Road (2); Ockbrook and Borrowash (3); Sandiacre (3); Sawley (3); Wilsthorpe (3).